The Things We Don’t Notice

I couldn’t look you in the eye when I first saw you. Did you notice?

I dressed up extra special when I knew you were going to be there. Did you notice?

I smiled every time I heard you name. Did you notice?

I learned Spanish to help you out with your homework. Did you notice?

I fell irrevocably in love with you. Did you notice?

I felt like dying when you told me it wasn’t working out. Did you notice?

I begged and begged your friends to talk to you for me. Did you notice?

I went to Church and thanked God for bringing you back to me. Did you notice?

I never looked at another man except for you. Did you notice?

I lost weight for you. Did you notice?

I planned our whole life together. Did you notice?

I even named the kids we were going to have. Did you notice?

I moved across the world to be with you. Did you notice?

I cried the nights you came home late. Did you notice?

I helped you into bed when you were too drunk to walk. Did you notice?

I washed out the lipstick stains on your collar every morning. Did you notice?

I came to all your office parties but stayed in the corner because you were embarrassed of me. Did you notice?

I was crying in the corner that night. Did you notice?

I was drinking too much tequila. Did you notice?

I was on the terrace, crying. Did you notice?

I was all alone. Did you notice?

I whispered goodbye. Did you notice?

I’m dead now. Have you fucking noticed yet?


About this entry